GA2023 – Nominations for the Piero Gazzola Prize

Piero Gazzola Dr Connally 1972 vignetteThe Piero Gazzola Prize was established in 1979 in memory of ICOMOS’ founding President and is the highest distinction awarded by ICOMOS. 

The Prize is awarded every three years during the ICOMOS General Assembly to an individual or a group of people who have worked together and contributed with distinction to the aims and objectives of ICOMOS.



The beneficiary must be a member of ICOMOS and is chosen by a Jury appointed by the ICOMOS Board. The same Jury considers the applications for ICOMOS Honorary Membership, which is conferred by the General Assembly.

The Piero Gazzola Prize, symbolised by a commemorative medal and diploma, has been previously awarded to:

  • Jean Trouvelot (1981), France
  • Stanislas Lorentz (1984), Poland
  • Masaru Sekino (1987), Japan
  • Gertrude Tripp (1990), Austria
  • Bernard Feilden (1993), United Kingdom
  • Ernest Allen Connally (1996), United States
  • Roland Silva (1999), Sri Lanka
  • Cevat Erder (2003), Turkey
  • Ann Webster Smith (2005), United States
  • Carmen Añón Feliú (2008), Spain
  • Nobuo Ito (2011), Japan
  • Henry Cleere (2014), UK
  • Saleh Lamei Mostafa (2017), Egypt
  • Amund Sinding-Larsen (2020), Norway

Nominations to the Prize are made by National Committees and should include:

  • a note setting forth the rationale behind the nomination (maximum 750 words in .doc format),
  • the candidate’s curriculum vitae,
  • a brief presentation of the candidates (max 3 lines),
  • a passport size photograph (in .jpg or .gif format, files size maximum 1MB).

The nomination must be submitted in English and /or French, in electronic format. Additional versions in Spanish are welcome.

Calendrier pictoNominations should be sent to the International Secretariat at by 25 February 2023.


downloadDownload this call in PDF format 

Photo crédits: Piero Gazzola and Dr Connally in 1972 © ICOMOS

Further information

GO TO linkRead our articles on the 21st General Assembly

GO TO linkVisit the 21st General Assembly website

By using this website you agree to the use of cookies to recognize your repeat visits and preferences, the display of videos and the measurement of audiences.No cookies are used to track you for commercial or advertising purposes.

Your browser and online tools allow you to adjust the setting of these cookies. Learn more

I understand

Cookies Policy

ICOMOS informs you that, when browsing the ICOMOS website and all the pages of this domain, cookies are placed on the user's computer, mobile or tablet. No cookies are used to track users for commercial or advertising purposes.

A cookie is a piece of information stored by a website on the user's computer and that the user's browser provides to the website during each user’s visit.

These cookies essentially allow ICOMOS to:

You will find below the list of cookies used by our website and their characteristics:

Cookies created by the use of a third-part service on the website:

For information:

You can set up your browser to alert you of the presence cookies and offer you to accept them or not. You can accept or refuse cookies on a case-by-case basis or refuse them once and for all. However, some features of the ICOM website cannot function properly without cookies activated. 

The setting of cookies is different for each browser and generally described in the help menus. You will find more explanations on how to proceed via the links below.

Firefox   •  



Internet Explorer


Dowload ICOMOS Cookies Policy