20th ICOMOS General Assembly - final voting platform: Result of the election of the 5 Vice Presidents

FOCUS GA2020okDear ICOMOS Members,

As you know, following the first two rounds of the elections at the 20th ICOMOS General Assembly, the following four Vice Presidents had been elected:

  • Riin Alatalu (Estonie / Estonia)
  • Bo Jiang (Chine / China)
  • Leonardo Castriota (Brésil / Brazil)
  • Alpha Diop (Mali)

There remained one vacant position for Vice President, as the ICOMOS Statutes require a total of 5 Vice Presidents to be elected. Two candidates from among the elected Board members were nominated for this vacant Vice President position: Adriana Careaga (Uruguay) and Zeynep Gül Ünal (Turkey).

We are now pleased to inform you of the results of voting for the election of the 5th Vice President.

The final voting platform was open from 14 December at 14:00 CET to 15 December at 16:00 CET.

NB: Due to a malfunction of the first authenticating link sent out to the voting members on 14 December a little before 14:00, the closing of the platform was postponed from 14:00 to 16:00 CET in order to allow voting for 24H from the time the platform was made available.

The Secretariat responded to all demands for assistance received on time and has no information about voting members unable to exercise their vote.

636 votes out of 945 possible votes were cast, that is a 67.30% participation. The candidate with the highest number of votes elected for the 5th position of Vice President is Zeynep Gül Ünal (Turkey).

The final composition of the new Board and ICOMOS officer positions is therefore:


Teresa Patricio (Belgium)


Secretary General:

Mario Santana (Canada)



Pamela Jerome (USA)


Vice Presidents:

Riin Alatalu (Estonia)

Bo Jiang (China)

Leonardo Castriota (Brazil)

Alpha Diop (Mali)

Zeynep Gül Ünal (Turkey)


Board members:

Nils Ahlberg (Sweden)

Adriana Careaga (Uruguay)

Andreas Georgopoulos (Greece)

HAN Suk-Young (South Korea)

Takeyuki Okubo (Japan)

Peter Phillips (Australia)

Nupur Prothi (India)

Grainne Shaffrey (Ireland)

Jean-Christophe Simon (France)

Hatthaya Siriphatthanakun (Thailand)

Stacy Vallis (New Zealand)

Cyrill von Planta (Austria)


We thank you all for your participation and cooperation.

Alfredo Conti and Gideon Koren

Co-Chairs, Election Committee, 20th ICOMOS General Assembly

By using this website you agree to the use of cookies to recognize your repeat visits and preferences, the display of videos and the measurement of audiences.No cookies are used to track you for commercial or advertising purposes.

Your browser and online tools allow you to adjust the setting of these cookies. Learn more

I understand

Cookies Policy

ICOMOS informs you that, when browsing the ICOMOS website and all the pages of this domain, cookies are placed on the user's computer, mobile or tablet. No cookies are used to track users for commercial or advertising purposes.

A cookie is a piece of information stored by a website on the user's computer and that the user's browser provides to the website during each user’s visit.

These cookies essentially allow ICOMOS to:

You will find below the list of cookies used by our website and their characteristics:

Cookies created by the use of a third-part service on the website:



For information:

You can set up your browser to alert you of the presence cookies and offer you to accept them or not. You can accept or refuse cookies on a case-by-case basis or refuse them once and for all. However, some features of the ICOM website cannot function properly without cookies activated. 

The setting of cookies is different for each browser and generally described in the help menus. You will find more explanations on how to proceed via the links below.

Firefox   •  



Internet Explorer


Dowload ICOMOS Cookies Policy