

Honorary Membership of ICOMOS

Honorary Membership is conferred by the General Assembly, at the proposal of a National Committee, upon individuals who have rendered distinguished service in the field of conservation, restoration and enhancement of historical monuments, sites, and groups of buildings (article 6-a-4 of the ICOMOS Statutes).

Following a well-established tradition, the Jury of the Piero Gazzola Prize also proposes to the General Assembly the list for ICOMOS Honorary Membership based on the proposals received from the National Committees. Honorary Members do not pay membership fees.

Honorary Membership of ICOMOS has been conferred so far on 76 ICOMOS members and 8 Honorary Memberships have been conferred posthumously. For the complete list of ICOMOS Honorary members, see below.

ICOMOS Honorary Members come from all over the world and represent 38 National Committees: Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, (former) Czechoslovakia, Czech Republic, Cuba, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, (former) GDR, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Romania, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, (former) USSR.

National Committees submitting proposals for ICOMOS Honorary Membership should include:

- a note setting forth the rationale behind the nomination (maximum 750 words in .rtf format),
- the candidate's curriculum vitae,
- a brief presentation of the candidates (max 3 lines)

Proposals must be submitted in English and/or French, in electronic format. Additional versions in Spanish are welcome.

For 2014, National Committees should send their nomination by 9 May 2014 to the International Secretariat at secretariat@icomos.org

ICOMOS

ICOMOS Honorary Members

1975/78

Mr Milton Lord - USA Mr Stanislaw Lorentz - Poland Mr Jan Zachwatowicz -Poland

1981

Mr Ernest A. Conally - USA Mr Guglielmo de Angelis d'Ossat - Italy Mr Vladimir Ivanov - USSR Mr Jean Sonnier – France

1987

Mr Emanuel Hruska – Czechoslovakia Mr René Pechère - Belgium Mr Alfred R. Schmid - Switzerland

1990

Mr M.D. Derscenyi - Hungary (posthumously) Sir Bernard Feilden - UK Mr H. Foramitti - Austria (posthumously) Mr M.W. Hansberger – GDR Ms Ann Webster Smith - USA

1993

Mr Géza Entz - Hungary (posthumously) Mr Jorge Gazaneo – Argentina Mr Alfred Majewski - Poland Mr Radu Popa - Roumania (posthumously) Mr Stephan Tschudi-Madsen - Norway

1996

Mr Cevat Erder - Turkey Mr Mladen Georgiev Mintchev – Bulgaria Mr Miklos Horler – Hungary Mr Dobroslav Libal -Czech Republic Mr Peyo Nikolov Berbenliev - Bulgaria Mr Richard Benjamin Nunoo - Ghana

1999

Mr Maurice Carbonnell - France Mr Olgierd Czerner - Poland Mr Hiroshi Daifuku - USA Ms Joan Domicelj - Australia Mr Jan Jessurun - the Netherlands Ms Maija Kairamo - Finland Mr Harald Langberg - Denmark Mr Paul Mylonas - Greece Mr Andras Roman - Hungary Mr Augusto da Silva Telles – Brazil

2003

Ms Rachelle Anguelova – Bulgaria Ms Marta Arjona Perez – Cuba

- Mr Yves Boiret France
- Mr Henry Cleere UK
- Mr Robertson Collins USA (posthumously)
- Mr Jacques Dalibard Canada
- Mr Carl Filip Mannerstrale Sweden (posthumously)
- Mr Krzysztof Pawlowski Poland
- Mr CL Temminck Groll the Netherlands
- Mr Mihaly Zador Hungary (posthumously)

2005

- Mr Sherban Cantacuzino UK
- Mr Alberto González Pozo Mexico
- Mr Varazdat Harutiunyan Armenia
- Mr Nobuo Ito Japan
- Mr Vassos Karageorghis Cyprus
- Mr Todor Krestev Bulgaria
- Mr Victor Armando Pimentel Gurmendi Peru
- Ms Sharon Sullivan Australia
- Ms Blanche Weicherding-Goergen Luxemburg

2008

- Mr Juan-Benito Artigas Hernandez -Mexico
- Mr Cyro Correa Lyra Brazil
- Mr Hernan Crespo Toral Ecuador (posthumously)
- Mr Tamas Fejerdy -Hungary
- Mr Jonas Glemza -Lithuania
- Mr Zahi Hawass Egypt
- Ms Birgitta Hoberg Sweden
- Mr Michel Jantzen France
- Mr Gilles Nourissier France (posthumously)
- Mr Kiyotari Tsuboi Japan

2011

- Mr Juan Bassegoda Nonell Spain
- Mr Carlos Flores Marini Mexico
- Mr Alvaro Gomez-Ferrer Bayo Spain
- Mr Ove Hidemark Sweden
- Mr James Semple Kerr Australia
- Mr Masaru Maeno Japan
- Mr Nicolas Moutsopoulos Greece Mr Henrique Oswaldo de Andrade - Brasil
- Mr Paul Philippot Belgium
- Mr Maria Fadarias Darrara
- Mr Mario Federico Roggero Italy Mr Gabor Winkler - Hungary