## **ICOMOS**

## The Piero Gazzola Prize

The Piero Gazzola Prize was established in 1979 in memory of ICOMOS' founding President and is the highest distinction awarded by ICOMOS.

The Prize is awarded every three years during the ICOMOS General Assembly to an individual or a group of people who have worked together and contributed with distinction to the aims and objectives of ICOMOS.

The beneficiary must be a member of ICOMOS and is chosen by a Jury appointed by the ICOMOS Executive Committee. The same Jury considers the applications for ICOMOS Honorary Membership, which is conferred by the General Assembly.

The Piero Gazzola Prize, symbolised by a commemorative medal and diploma, has been previously awarded to:

- Mr Jean Trouvelot (1981), France
- Prof. Stanislas Lorentz (1984), Poland
- Prof. Masaru Sekino (1987), Japan
- Ms Gertrude Tripp (1990), Austria
- Sir Bernard Feilden (1993), United Kingdom
- Dr Ernest Allen Connally (1996), United States
- Dr Roland Silva (1999), Sri Lanka
- Dr Cevat Erder (2003), Turkey
- Ms Ann Webster Smith (2005), United States
- Ms Carmen Añón Feliú (2008), Spain
- Mr Nobuo Ito (2011), Japan

Nominations to the Prize are made by National Committees and should include:

- a note setting forth the rationale behind the nomination (maximum 750 words in .rtf format),
- the candidate's curriculum vitae,
- a brief presentation of the candidates (max 3 lines),
- if possible, a passport size photograph (in .jpeg or .gif format, files size maximum 1MB).

The nomination must be submitted in English and /or French, in electronic format. Additional versions in Spanish are welcome.

For 2014, National Committees should send their nomination by 9 May 2014 to the International Secretariat at: secretariat@icomos.org